Agenda/Minutes‎ > ‎2003-2004‎ > ‎

2004 - 04/15

UCAP Meeting of 04/15/2004


agenda status: approved

University Committee on Academic Policy

Meeting of Thursday, April 15, 2004
10:15 a.m., Board Room, Administration Building

1. Approval of Agenda

2. Approval of Minutes of the March 18, 2004 meeting..........(Attachment)

3. Comments from the Chairperson

4. Comments from the Assistant Provost

5. Geophysics Moratorium Extension..........(Attachment - hardcopy only)

6. Ancient Studies Moratorium Extension..........(Attachment - hardcopy only)

7. Forest Science Concentration GPA Requirement Request..........(Attachment - hardcopy only)

8. Admission Requirement Change for BS in Nursing..........(Attachment - hardcopy only)

9. Proposal to Transfer Matrix to the College of Social Science..........(Attachment - hardcopy only)

10. Proposal to Transfer History to the College of Social Science..........(Attachment - hardcopy only)

11. Nominations for UCAP 2004-05 (elections next meeting)

12. Academic Integrity Subcommittee (XF Grade)..........Sharon Senk

13. Learning Importance Subcommittee (Exam Distribution Policy)..........Rod Phillips

14. Grade Inflation Subcommittee Report..........Bridget Behe

Please phone or E-Mail Robin Pline (353-5380; if you cannot be present and send a substitute in your place.

minutes status: approved

approved at meeting of

UCAP Minutes for meeting held on 04/15/2004

Approved 4/29/04
University Committee on Academic Policy
April 15, 2004
Meeting Minutes

Members Present: William Anderson (for Patricia Mullan), Bridget Behe (Chair), Henry Beckmeyer, Tom Bird (for Chris Wheeler), Betty Cheng, Ernest Drake, Jeremy Hernandez, Jennifer Hodges, Tim Howes, Folu Ogundimu, Georgia Padonu, Helene Pazak, Rod Phillips, Sharon Senk, Alexander von Eye, Dan Weber, Maija E. Zile

Others Present: Assistant Provost June Pierce Youatt, Renee Cannady, Lisa Fine, Daniel Keathley, Mark Kornbluh, Robin Pline, Micael Velbel, Judith Vinson

Members Absent: Bhalsod Bhavisha, Janet Bokemeier, K. Ramesh, Cynthia Taggart

1. Meeting was called to order at 10.17 am.

The Agenda was approved with a revised Item 13, the syllabus policy.

2. The minutes of the last meeting were approved.

3. Comments from the chairperson: the last meeting of the UCAP is scheduled for 4/29/04.

4. Comments from the Assistant Provost: call for nominations for governance committees

5. The extension of the Geophysics Moratorium was approved.

6. The extension of the Ancient Studies Moratorium was approved.

7. The request to implement a GPA-based admittance requirement for the Forest Science Concentration was approved. In the discussion, it was emphasized that this requirement would not imply a disadvantage to other students, and that the number of students anticipated to enroll would be about 3 - 5 per Academic Year.

8. The admission requirement change for a BS in Nursing was approved. In the discussion, it was emphasized that this change which will result in a shorter and more streamlined training program would not impact the quality of the program. To the contrary, Professor Renee Canady and Associate Dean Judith Vinson noted that quality would improve. Other issues discussed included a buy-in option, a joint teaching arrangement with Pharmacology, the capacity for clinical training, and the lack of training in Anatomy lab courses.

9. A motion that the transfer of Matrix to the College of Social Science has no implications on undergraduate education was approved. Professor Mark Kornbluh, Director of Matrix, indicated that Matrix entertains connections to all colleges, that students come from all over campus, and that Matrix is a research unit rather than an academic unit. Dean Wendy Wilkins from Arts and Letters noted that consultation with the Dean’s office had not taken place, and that the College of Arts and Letter had invested in Matrix. She asked that budget implications be discussed, and questioned whether the transfer date of 7-1-04 would be premature. Chair Behe noted that the UCAP is chiefly concerned with the impact of the transfer on undergraduate education. Dean Wilkins indicated that the transfer will have no effect on undergraduate education, only on the support of graduate students and research budgets. Director Kornbluh concurred, and added that faculty will keep their faculty appointments in their home departments.

10. A motion in support of the transfer of History to the College of Social Science was approved. Professor Lisa Fine reported that the faculty of History unanimously support the move of the department. Both graduate and undergraduate students will be able to complete their programs as planned. The department would like to retain its foreign language requirement. Dean Wilkins noted that the college requirements differ, and that the implications of the move for the undergraduate program are being discussed. Professor Fine said that the impact of the differences in college requirements need to be sorted out, and that the integrity of the History program will be maintained. The issue of joint reporting was discussed.

11. Professor Folu Ogundimu was nominated for chair of the UCAP for 2004-05. Additional nominations will be accepted until the election to be held at the next meeting.

12. Professor Sharon Senk presented the report of the Academic Integrity Subcommittee. Appeals processes and restitution options were discussed, as well as the permanence of the XF grade that can be given to violators of Academic Integrity. The XF grade proposed by the committee was approved, to be used by instructors to denote failing a course due to academic dishonesty.

13. The changes of the code of teaching responsibilities that the subcommittee proposed were approved. These changes included (a) a clarification in the need to submit grades in a timely manner, (b) requirement for a written syllabus and items to be included in that syllabus and c) clarification on the responsibilities for distributing graded examinations.

14. The Grade Inflation Subcommittee report will be discussed at the next meeting.

15. The meeting adjourned at 12.05.

Meeting Minutes drafted by Alexander von Eye